Review + Giveaway | Poison by Lan Chan

Poison by Lan Chan
Released: September 1, 2015
Publisher: CreateSpace
Pages: 350
Source: I was provided a copy for review purposes by Xpresso Book Tours.

Since the night her mother was murdered, sixteen-year-old Rory Gray has known one truth: There are no good Seeders.

In post-apocalyptic Australia, the scientists known as Seeders have built a Citadel surrounded by food-producing regions and populated with refugees from the wars and famine. To maintain their control, the Seeders poisoned the land and outlawed the saving of seeds.

It’s been six years since Rory graced the Seeders’ circus stage as the Wind Dancer and still the scars on her body haven’t healed. Even worse are the scars on her heart, left by a Seeder boy who promised to protect her.

Now the Seeders are withholding supplies from Rory’s region for perceived disobedience. Utilizing the Wanderer knowledge she received from her mother, Rory must journey to the Citadel through uninhabitable terrain to plead for mercy.

However, the Citadel isn’t as Rory remembered. The chief plant geneticist is dying and rumors fly that the store of viable seed is dwindling. The Seeders are desperate to find a seed bank they believe Rory can locate, and they will stop at nothing to get it.

To defy the Seeders means death. But Rory has been close to death before–this time she’s learned the value of poison.

Recommended for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, strong protagonists, minority characters, circuses and nature!

Product links: Amazon | Goodreads | B&N | BAM | Smashwords


This is my very first review as a tour host for XPresso Book Tours! If you would like to see all the other wonderful posts related to this book, you can click here. Go check them out!

Without further ado…

| My thoughts |

Rating: 3.5/5 stars!

First off, that cover! That’s what initially drew me in to this novel, and don’t think less of me…we all judge books by their covers!

Lan Chan definitely did some development in terms of the world building with this one! And I also love that this book is based in Australia, as I feel there’s not many books that brave the land down under.

I love that there’s not an infodump in the beginning of this novel! I enjoy when authors let the reader figure things out on their own and organically, rather than putting me to sleep explaining the world. We’re introduced to Reapers, Seeders and blood furies. Little by little, we learn about the world that Rory lives in, and I think that’s the way it should be done. It makes the whole of the story have some real depth to it that makes the world believable.

As far as the characters go, I enjoyed reading about the ruthlessness of Aidan and wanted to find out what happened in his life. Lan Chan did a great job of developing some pretty interesting characters that made me want to keep reading.

I would definitely recommend this to people who like dystopian novels that are unique!


It’s time for a GIVEAWAY!

*raucous cheers*

If you would like to enter to win a $20 Amazon gift card, click HERE!

This is an international giveaway and closes on January 28th!


Lan1.jpgABOUT LAN CHAN:

Lan Chan is a writer, gardener and professional procrastinator based in Melbourne, Australia. She is still waiting for her super powers to manifest but until then she writes young adult novels featuring strong female protagonists, minority characters and has a particular interest in dystopias and urban fantasy. Lan’s debut novel POISON, the first in her WIND DANCER series is due for release in September 2015.

Connect with the Author:  Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads


4 thoughts on “Review + Giveaway | Poison by Lan Chan

  1. Great review! I’m the biggest cover judger ever so I get it haha! I love this ocver too it’s really eye catching! Glad you liked it overall it sounds like a fun read!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *